Atlanta Football Host Committee Announced for 2018 College Football Playoff National Championship

Planning for the biggest game in college football officially kicks-off in Atlanta

ATLANTA (October 7, 2016) – With this year’s college football season well underway, Atlanta is counting down the days to next season’s national championship game. Preparations for the 2018 College Football Playoff (CFP) National Championship at Mercedes-Benz Stadium are officially in motion with the announcement of the Atlanta Football Host Committee (AFHC) and its official logo unveiling.

The Atlanta Sports Council announced the Board of Directors and staff for the Atlanta Football Host Committee. The AFHC is a group comprised of local leaders in the business, sports and tourism industries brought together for one common cause – proving to college football fans across the nation why the people of Atlanta proudly consider their city the hotbed of college football.

“Working alongside the College Football Playoff staff and management groups, the Committee’s ultimate goal is to create a remarkable experience for the participating student-athletes, visiting fans, and media, and to show off all the city of Atlanta has to offer as a top destination for championship events,” said Dan Corso, president of the AFHC Board and Atlanta Sports Council. “This event goes well beyond the work of the Committee; metro Atlanta residents will have an opportunity to volunteer and play a role in making this a first-class event.”

“Atlanta will be an excellent host for the fourth College Football Playoff National Championship and ancillary festivities,” said Bill Hancock, CFP executive director. “The city will have all the necessary infrastructure, including great hotels, a world-class airport犀利士
and a phenomenal new stadium, plus a warm spirit and love for college football.”

Additionally, the Atlanta Football Host Committee unveiled its official logo. The logo features the iconic design of the new Mercedes-Benz Stadium with the Atlanta skyline in the background, showing the true footprint of the Championship Campus and the heart of downtown Atlanta.

The Atlanta Football Host Committee consists of:

Board of Directors

Dan Corso, President
President, Atlanta Sports Council

William Pate, Vice President
President & CEO, Atlanta Convention & Visitors Bureau

Frank Poe, Treasurer
Executive Director, Georgia World Congress Center Authority

David Epps, Secretary
Chief Operating Officer and VP of Marketing, Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl

Jennifer Ball
VP Planning and Economic Development, Central Atlanta Progress

Dan Gordon
Chief Operating Officer, City of Atlanta

John Grant
Executive Director, Celebration Bowl

Rich McKay
President & CEO, Atlanta Falcons

Steve Riddell
Partner, Troutman Sanders

Staff Members

Carl Adkins, Executive Director
Amy Patterson, Manager of Operations and Logistics
Erin Shearer, Manager of Communications and Marketing
Christina Tedcastle, Manager of Events and Sponsor Activation
Brendan Thomas, Legal Counsel
Diana Trujillo, Manager of Volunteer Program

In addition to the Board and Staff, a select group of individuals have been identified to serve as liaisons on the AFHC including Janet Arsenault (Georgia World Congress Center Authority), Keisha Burnette (City of Atlanta), Brett Daniels (Georgia Tech Athletics), Michael Drake (Mercedes-Benz Stadium), Scott Jenkins (Mercedes-Benz Stadium), Doug Justice (Georgia State University Athletics), Katie Kling (Atlanta Convention & Visitors Bureau), Derek Martin (Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl), Kendyl Moss (Atlanta International School) and Tim Trefzer (Georgia World Congress Center Authority).

Atlantans who are interested in being a part of the volunteer team for the 2018 College Football Playoff National Championship, can sign up for more information at

Follow ATLChampGame on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter for the latest news and happenings.

About the Atlanta Football Host Committee

Formed in 2016, the Atlanta Football Host Committee (AFHC) serves as an extension of the College Football Playoff Group in the local community. The organization is responsible for the planning and production of the 2018 College Football Playoff National Championship and accompanying fan events. The AFHC is comprised of local leaders in business, sports and tourism and its mission is to host a one-of-a-kind Championship experience for student-athletes, university representatives, media and college football fans. For more information, visit:

About the Atlanta Sports Council

The Atlanta Sports Council (ASC), a division of the Metro Atlanta Chamber, facilitates the growth and development of sports in metro Atlanta by serving as a recruiter for major regional, national and international sports events. The organization plays an important role in improving the quality of life for residents in the region through sports, working to drive economic growth and visibility and acting as an advocate for area teams and annual sports events. For more information, visit

About the College Football Playoff

The College Football Playoff matches the No. 1 seed vs. No. 4, and No. 2 vs. No. 3 in semifinal games that rotate annually among the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, Goodyear Cotton Bowl, Capital One Orange Bowl, Allstate Sugar Bowl, Rose Bowl Game presented by Northwestern Mutual and Fiesta Bowl. The 2016 semifinals will take place December 31, at the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl and Fiesta Bowl. The national championship game will be Monday, January 9, 2017, at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Florida.